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RC 44 
 

EVENT CALL 01 (Old 04) 
 
 
Question 
When would the umpires consider the spinnaker being in the process of hoisting? 
 
Answer 
The umpires will consider the spinnaker as being in the process of hoisting when the 
spinnaker head is continuously moving upwards and the spinnaker would fill on the course 
the boat is sailing at that time. 
The bowsprit extending, or the tack being pulled out will not be considered as hoisting. 
 
 
January 2013  
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EVENT CALL 02 (Old 05) 

 
 
Question 1 
Can a boat after having missed a rounding mark, correct this error after having crossed the 
finishing line from the course side? 
Answer 
No.  
 
Question 2 
In a match race both boats fail to round a rounding mark and then cross the finishing line. 
Neither boat protests. How will the race be scored? 
Answer 
The race will be scored 0-0 and the race will not be resailed. 
 
 
February 2013 
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EVENT CALL 03 (Old 07) 
 

 
Question 
When would the umpires consider a boat has a controlling position? 
 
Answer 
The umpires will consider a boat has a controlling position over the other boat in her match 
when she is ahead and able to manoeuver towards the next mark without impediment or in a 
position to be able to impede, affect or change the actions of the other boat. If both boats are 
able to impede, affect or change the actions of the other boat neither boat may have a 
controlling position. 
 
June 2014 
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EVENT CALL 04 (Old 08) 

 
Umpires shall not change their decisions, but they may promptly correct a visual signal that 
was displayed in error. 
This will be accompanied by a further sound signal. 
 
August 2014 
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EVENT CALL 05 (Old 09) 

 
 

 
Two boats approach each other on opposite tacks and Starboard clearly signals to Port that 
Port can cross in front of her. 
Port crosses and Starboard immediately protests Port for not keeping clear. 
 
What action should the umpires take? 
 
If the Umpires are absolutely certain that the signal by Starboard was clear and: 
 
a) Port was not keeping clear, then penalize Starboard for breaking rule 2.  
 Port is exonerated for breaking rule 10 by rule 64.1(a). 
 
 
b) Port was keeping clear, then display the green and white flag. 
 
 
March 2015 
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EVENT CALL 06 (Old 10) 
 
 

 
Request for a delay before the starting procedure in Match-Race and in Fleet race: 
 
Match-Race 
The matches will start in the order as provided by the pairing list attached to the SI. 
The Race Committee will not delay the starting procedure or change the order of matches in 
the next flight when requested to do so by a competitor. 
 
Fleet Race 
The Race Committee will consider a request for a delay  due to a breakdown beween races. 
This delay will not exceed a total of 20 minutes from either the announced time of a Warning 
Signal or the original intended time for a Warning Signal as determined by the Race 
Committee. 
 
 
February 2016 
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EVENT CALL 07 

 
OBSTRUCTION AND ZONE 

 
1. Are the following objects ranked as obstruction? 

 Description Obstruction 

1 Person(s) in the water YES 

2 Person(s) aboard of any craft except a boat racing YES 

3 An umpire boat YES 

4 A boat racing: the boats are required to keep clear or to give mark-room to her YES 

5 A boat racing: the boats are required to avoid her if rule 23 applies YES 

6 A boat racing: the boats are NOT required to keep clear or to give mark-room NO 

 
2. For the purpose of RRS 19.1, to which of the following obstructions the definition of 

zone is applicable? 

 Description Zone 

1 Person(s) in the water YES 

2 Person(s) aboard of any craft except a boat racing YES 

3 An umpire boat NO 

4 A boat racing: the boats are required to keep clear or to give mark-room to her NO 

5 A boat racing: the boats are required to avoid her if rule 23 applies YES 

 

 
Addendum RC 44  (WS RRS: black types – RC 44 SI: red/underlined types) 
 
Q1.1(c)  Obstruction 
An object that a boat could not pass without changing course substantially, if she were 
sailing directly towards it and one of her hull lengths from it. An object that can be safely 
passed on only one side and an area so designated by the sailing instructions are also 
obstructions. However, a boat racing is not an obstruction to other boats unless they are 
required to keep clear of her or to give mark room to her or, if rule 23 applies, avoid her.  
The following objects always rank as obstructions: 
(a) any vessel with a person (or persons) aboard that is not a racing boat; 
(b) any person (or persons) in the water. 
 A vessel under way, including a boat racing, is never a continuing obstruction.  

Q1.1(i)  RRS 19.1 is changed to:  
When Rule 19 Applies 
Rule 19 applies between two boats at an obstruction or when at least one of them is in the 
zone of an obstruction that is different from an umpire boat or a boat racing the boats are 
required to keep clear or to give mark-room to her, except 
 (a) when the obstruction is a mark the boats are required to leave on the  
 same side, or 
 (b) when rule 18 applies between the boats and the obstruction is another  
 boat overlapped with each of them. 
However, at a continuing obstruction, rule 19 always applies and rule 18 does not. 
 
   April 2019 

RC 44  
EVENT CALL 08 



 

 
 

 
OBSTRUCTION WITH A ZONE 

 

1- At an obstruction with a zone, when is a boat “at the obstruction”? 

When a boat enters the zone, that boat is “at the obstruction”. 

 

2- How will the umpires decide which side of the obstruction a right-of-way boat has chosen 
to pass? 

When “at the obstruction” it is clear on which side of the obstruction the right-of-way boat is 
aiming, then the right-of-way boat shall pass the obstruction on that side.           

If it is not clear when entering the zone on which side the right-of-way boat is aiming, then as 
soon as it is clear she is passing one side or the other of the obstruction, she shall pass on 
that side. 

If the course of the other boat was not affected by the right-of-way boat not passing on the 
determined side or, the right-of-way boat had to fulfil obligations under the rules of Part 2 
towards another boat, she will not be penalized. 
 

   April 2019 
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Event Call 09 
 
 
When a boat is rounding or passing a geostationary mark and she breaks rule 31 the  
boat will be penalized. 
She is only exonerated from that infringement under rules 43, 44.1(a) or if the umpire(s) 
display(s) a green and white flag after being certain that the contact only occurred because 
of a sudden, significant and abnormal movement of the geostationary mark. 
 

October 2023 
 
 


